DarkJade Presents – My Sci-Fi Path

DarkJade Presents – My Sci-Fi Path

As I’ve said many times before, The Original “Star Wars”, and “The Empire Strikes Back” were the two Films that Inspired me to Pursue Film Making…

But I thought it was time I Truly Shared My Path Through the Sci-Fi Genre, which basically started in the 70’s for me when I was very young.

Space 1999 (1975-1977)

Now I don’t remember when I started watching “Space 1999”, it probably wasn’t as early as 1975… But sometime when I was very young, I did watch it… And it was Cool, Lol

Wow, that was kind of painful, Lol… The 70’s man, Lol

Star Wars (1977)

Then came the Original “Star Wars”, and that was it, I was ‘hooked’ on Sci-Fi.

I was Han Solo, My Brother was Luke, and My Favorite All Time Villain Became Darth Vader.

Star Trek (1966-1969)

And of course “Star Trek” Reruns were on T.V. frequently, which were just Awesome… Spock was, and is, my favorite Star Trek Character.

The Ultimate in Sci-Fi Melodrama, Lol… With a sprinkle of Shakespearean Undertones for Good Measure, Lol

Buck Rogers In The 25th Century (1979)

I hardly remember the Buck Rodgers Television Show, but I know My Brother and I used to Watch it, Lol

Wow… Wow… The 70’s… Wow, Lol

Planet Of The Apes (1968)

Somewhere in there the “Planet of the Apes” Movies were on T.V. on some of the Channels as well…

“TAKE YOUR STINKING PAWS OF ME YOU DAMN DIRTY APE!” Lol

Battlestar Galactica (1978-1979)

We Loved this Show, Lol

Alien (1979)

Yes, are Mom actually took us to this Flick, Lol… Which is a Brilliant Film, but basically Scared the Hell out of My Brother and I, Lol

She regrets taking us, Ha

But in the end, I think we survived it ok, Lol

Uh, Yeah… It was pretty scary for a couple of young kids, Lol

Flash Gordon (1980)

We Loved This Flick, as Cheesy as it was, Lol… In fact I not only met Timothy Dalton years later, but My Current Cat is also Named “Baron”, after the Timothy Dalton Character, Lol Not to mention “Queen”, and more specifically “Freddy Mercury” was my Favorite All Time Singer…

Spaceships, Hawkmen, Queens Music… Yeah, this was my kind of Flick, Lol

The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

And of course, One of My All Time Favorite Films, “The Empire Strikes Back”… Han was My Man, and this Film was definitely His Film.

In My Opinion, the Best Sci-Fi Film Ever… No “Star Wars”… No “The Empire Strikes Back”…  No “Star Wars”… And so it Goes, Lol

But I will Say The First Two Star Wars Films are one of My Main Motivations Behind My Focus of “Characters”, “Story”, and “Character & Story” Development. And the Importance of a Great Villain.

Blade Runner (1982)

“Blade Runner”… Also one of the Most Brilliant Sci-Fi Films Ever Done… Just a Masterpiece… And also very Influential on My Screenplay Writing, for Sure.

“I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I’ve watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die.”

One of the Best Sci-Fi Lines, and Scenes Ever… Wridley Scott is a Film Genius Basically… And of course the Writer Philip K. Dick, whose “Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?” Book it was based on.

TRON (1982)

“TRON”, a Film Way ahead of its time… My Brother and I Loved This Film.

At a Time when We Lived in Video Game Arcades, it was like Being in One of them…

And the List goes on and on… But those were the one’s that got My Bro and I Off the Ground so to speak, in regards to Sci-Fi.

Thanks For Listening/Watching/Reading

DarkJade-

2 Responses to “DarkJade Presents – My Sci-Fi Path”

  1. Awesome post!

    Its a great idea for tracking one’s inspirations! You have a few years on me, but a lot of those movies and TV shows were favorites of mine as well!

Leave a Reply

