Mady’s Storm (Chapter II) – New York

new york 1940's

Mady’s Storm

A Novella

by DarkJade

Prolog

Chapter One – America

Chapter Two – New York

NEW YORK CITY, NEW YORK

The New York Streets were crazy…

Like some epidemic had been let loose…

And every man in a long coat, or woman in heels and a fancy hat, was running from it…

Or something like that.

For now I would stay in an expensive highrise apartment.

Americans loved money… And I have a lot of it.

My mother’s father was an industrialist… Or so I always heard.

And had left her a great deal of money.

After I retrieved access to my mother’s estate, I spent the better part of my first few weeks in New York City crumpled on the floor crying in my white cotton nightgown.

I wonder if Rabia could hear me in the next room…

I wondered…

But I didn’t care…

I had lost my father…

My last parent… My best, and only friend.

I wasn’t quite sure how I would get through this one.

In Africa I favored myself a strong young woman…

Independent… Self reliant.

Hell, even fairly smart.

But here in America…

I was none of those things.

I had reverted back to that young girl who had found herself at the bottom of her mother’s pool that fateful night…

That frightful night.

I must not let this darkness apprehend me…

I must… Find a way to survive, and move on in this life without him…

Without my father.

There was no address in a box that I could write to this time…

No…

This time… I ‘m truly alone.

But the drink would help.

And when I finally emerged from the darkness…

The prison cell that this New York City apartment in the sky had become, and supplied me…

I basically made it as far out as a local ‘high end’ pub…

Known as ‘The Clock Work Tavern’.

Somewhere even a ‘Lady’ could get away with drinking away her woes.

And after a few nights of drinking… I began to wonder what poor old Rabia thought of all of this, as he stood near the entrance of the pub… Watching me drink my nights away, as the American’s harassed him as they came and went from the Pub.

I needed to hire an American man to take his place as my protector… From physical harm that is.

I needed to set him free…

Back to Africa where he belonged.

But where do I belong?

That answer would have to wait.

I swore I’d never return to my Mother’s estate in Virgina…

But somehow in the middle of the cold night…

That’s where I’d find my mind wandering to.

Unfinished business?

I don’t know.

The truth is the moment I turned 18, my father and I had put it up for sale.

It sold for a pretty penny, and the money was poured into my account here in America… Along with the rest of the estate funds.

Money from my Mother in America… And Money from my Father from Africa…

Somehow it felt like the more money I had…

The lonelier I was.

Like each fortune was some sort of emotional payoff to my soul.

My soul, which has somehow voyaged back into the greyness I once knew.

But I mustn’t think about such things.

I decided that I must find a man, or two to replace Rabia as soon as possible.

And I also needed to return to my mother’s estate in Virginia…

My childhood home.

To dispel these demons that seem to want to keep me from my night’s slumber

And so Rabia and I would leave New York for the moment, and head to Virginia.

But I kept my New York City Apartment for now.

DarkJade-

Chapter Three – Virginia

Chapter Four – Flashback

Chapter Five – Rex Taylor

Chapter Six – Sex

Chapter Seven – A Time For Giving

Chapter Eight – Nightmares

One Response to “Mady’s Storm (Chapter II) – New York”

Leave a Reply

