Mady’s Storm (Chapter III) – Virginia

1940s_makeup_style-glamourdaze_1 2

Mady’s Storm

A Novella

by DarkJade

Prolog

Chapter One – America

Chapter Two – New York

Chapter Three – Virginia

When I arrived in Virginia, I hired a driver to take Rabia and I way out to the Virginia countryside to where my mother’s estate resided.

When I got there, I literally froze.

I was that little girl hiding in those bushes again.

Rabia literally had to peel me out of the backseat of the car.

I knew almost nothing about the man that had purchased my mother’s estate…

Only that he was a Rancher from Texas, or was it Montana, and this was to be his second, or third home.

But he was away now.

Rabia and I strolled around the outside of the estate, and ended up in the backyard area.

My mother’s roses were long gone, and in their place were daisies and daffodils…

They were lovely… But I missed my mother’s roses.

Or maybe it was my mother that I missed.

The pool that I had found myself in the bottom of those many years ago, was covered for the winter…

There would be no late night swimming for me this time…

Not now…

Not ever.

My father had the courage of a Lion… And had left his courage with me.

And I would do my best to take good care of it.

“May I help you miss?” spoke a deeper, but somehow familiar voice.

When I turned around, I couldn’t believe what I saw.

It was little Tommy Wilkenson all grown up.

“Mady?!” he exclaimed.

I smiled slightly… Something I hadn’t done since before my father’s death.

He reached out to shake my hand, and without thinking I wrapped my arms tightly around him, and gave him an ungodly squeeze…

He must have thought I was mad…

Or just plain desperate.

And now that I think of it, I probably was… Desperate for love that is… Or at least… Relieved to see a friendly, familiar face.

“It’s so good to see you Tommy… You have no idea,”, I spoke with the deepest kind of appreciation.

“You too Mady” he spoke as he slowly pulled away… “I heard about your father… I’m sorry Mady”.

I simply nodded.

Tommy was married to a very nice blonde girl named Rosemary.

He had become the landscaper for the estate, and he and his wife had taken some of the money I sent to him, and purchased a small home some miles back…. In the outskirts of all the expensive homes, and estates.

It had been good to see Tommy.

But, being he was a married man…

And I was a “wealthy, dark haired minx”, or so America had labeled me, it wasn’t likely that we’d stay in touch.

But it had still been good to see him.

My how things change.

I had changed too.

In his case… For the better.

I suppose I helped a bit… But he’s always had a lovely soul.

All’s as it should be.

Rabia and I left after a short visit, and settled into a hotel near the train station.

In the morning I would be interviewing three men that had been suggested to me by a local agency that found men such as I required. Protectors.

I had figured, why not hire someone from my home town, as opposed to New York.

These interviews went on for several days… One… Two… Three men a day… To no avail.

To be honest with you, the whole thing just felt strange.

And so I gave up for now, and would set back off to New York, which seemed to be the place to be if one needed to be in America.

But not before running into Randy McCormick…

A newsman from New York.

Apparently he was assigned to me because of my financial status…

I guess these kind of things aren’t kept all that private in America.

And he’d followed me from New York, to here in Virginia.

Kicking back and watching my doings I suppose.

Definitely a creepy thing… Something that definitely justified me wanting to have some sort of protection at my side.

And once he had started digging into any kind of connections I might have here in Virginia… And this city in particular.

He could not believe what he found.

As Rabia and I sat waiting for our train back to the airport, having not found any men to hire, Randy McCormick finally approached me.

“Mrs. Caroline Monroe?” he spoke.

I did not react, nor respond to this name.

“It’s Mady” suddenly spoke Rabia, who seemed as erked as I.

“Daughter of Scarlett Horris?” he questioned.

“And Sam Monroe… Yes” I finally replied, looking off into the distance, hoping that with sheer will I could manifest our train quicker.

“Right” he said, as he shuffled through his notes “Part owner of the Monroe Diamond Mine in Africa, right?” he added.

“What is it you require of me sir?” I asked curtly.

“Well… I was wondering if I might ask you a few questions” he spoke.

If not now… Then someday I would have to answer questions in regards to my past… So I decided now was as good a time as any.

“Continue” I replied.

And so he did.

Questions about my Step Father who mysteriously disappeared in Africa 8 plus years ago.

Questions about my Mother’s body that had at last been recovered from the lake Fred had put it in.

And questions about my father… Surprisingly these were the questions that bothered me most.

Funny… I had never considered how the newspapers would come into play with my coming to America.

Or rather that they would at all.

A tragic error that my father would surely have warned me about, should he still have been alive.

Then again… He probably assumed I’d spend the rest of my days in Africa…

But without him…

No… He was the reason I went there…

And he is the reason I stayed and lived there.

Don’t get me wrong… I love Africa… And it is truly beautiful…

But without him…

The sun would bare no light for me…

And the majestic landscapes would merely serve as a reminder of what I had lost…

Forever more…

No thanks.

“Is that all?” I asked the newsman, as I stood up upon the approaching of our train.

“Uh… Yes… What’s next for you now, if I may be so bold?” he asked as I boarded the train with Rabia.

“If I knew… I’m not sure that I would tell you Mr. McCormick…” I replied.

He laughed slightly as he slid his pencil back behind his ear.

“Good day to you sir” were my parting words.

DarkJade-

Chapter Four – Flashback

Chapter Five – Rex Taylor

Chapter Six – Sex

Chapter Seven – A Time For Giving

Chapter Eight – Nightmares

One Response to “Mady’s Storm (Chapter III) – Virginia”

Leave a Reply

