Mady’s Storm (Chapter IV) – Flashback

10296_66cm_ 001Mady’s Storm

A Novella

by DarkJade

Prolog

Chapter One – America

Chapter Two – New York

Chapter Three – Virginia

Chapter Four – Flashback

AFRICA

FOUR YEARS AGO

Mady and her father sit by the fireplace in Sam Monroe’s plantation home.

“Mady” he says as he looks deep into the firelight.

“Yes father” Mady replies from the chair across from him, looking up from her book.

“If anything should ever happen to me… Or” with this he looks at her.

“Father… Nothing shall ever happened to you” she replies.

“But if it does” he continues.

“I will survive” she responds confidently.

“Are you sure?” he adds.

“Yes father…” with this Mady rises from her chair, kneels down by him, and takes his hand

“You have shown me Love… You have shown me beauty in its rawest form… You have taught me inner peace… Something I never thought I’d ever have” Mady explains.

“But Mady” he replies.

“Father… I will survive… I will continue forward”

“I shall find a way”

“I must find a way”

END OF FLASHBACK

THE PLANE GOING BACK TO NEW YORK

Mady and Rabia are in the plane going back to New York City.

“I must find a way” Mady says out loud waking from a semi sleep.

“Excuse me miss?” replies Rabia

“Oh… Nothing” Mady replies, realizing she must have been talking in her sleep.

Mady looks over at Rabia who is smiling at her.

“It is time you went home to Africa” she says.

Suddenly Rabia’s face becomes serious.

“I will not leave you miss… Not now… Not ever” he explains.

“I insist Rabia… This American world of merchandise, and soulless chatter, is no place for the likes of you” Mady explains.

“Nor for the likes of you miss… If I may so” Rabia replies.

“You may say so… And you are most likely right…” Mady replies with a slight smile.

“But I will not be returning to Africa” she explains, which catches Rabia off guard a bit.

“And your family, and wife await you there…” she explains.

“It has already been over a month since you have seen them” she finishes.

“But Miss” Rabia tries to interject.

“No butts… I insist…” but Mady won’t hear of it.

A NEW YORK CITY CAFE

TWO DAYS LATER

Mady sits alone at a small table in a New York City cafe.

Watching the people go by in a grey swirl.

A day after our return from Virginia, Rabia boarded a plane for Africa, and so it was just me now.

I had still not found a hired man protector… But I did have this…

Mady looks into her black purse, where there is a shiny silver revolver.

The black purse, also matches her all black medium length dress, and blouse.

And I had learned how to fire it well from my father.

She picks up a newspaper with a picture of her getting off the plane with Rabia two days ago on the cover.

“WHITE AFRICAN PRINCESS ARRIVES HOME IN NEW YORK AFTER VISITING VIRGINIA, HER PLACE OF SECRETS”

As I feared, when I returned to New York, the story of the “Young Heiress from Virginia, and Africa” was indeed the major headline.

But I would not turn tail and run…

No… I would face, and except this shallow shell of a newspaper tale.

LATER THAT NIGHT

THE CLOCKWORK TAVERN

Sadly, more than anything else, this tale seems to have drawn out many men…

Fortune hunters…

Or what I referred to as ‘wolves’, more interested in my fortune, than they were my sorted, and colorful past.

Which made my nights at ‘The Clockwork Tavern’ both entertaining, and a tad bit bothersome.

But at least I never had to pay for a drink again.

And then he came.

DarkJade-

Chapter Five – Rex Taylor

Chapter Six – Sex

Chapter Seven – A Time For Giving

Chapter Eight – Nightmares

3 Responses to “Mady’s Storm (Chapter IV) – Flashback”

  1. lol But at least I never had to pay for a drink again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

