18 Months In… I’m No Jedi Yet

emo_boy_by_chihiro3918 Months In… I’m No Jedi Yet

Ok, so I’ve actually been pursuing Writing as a Career for 23 Months… But I’ve basically been in Low Gear during the last 4 Months, and 18 just sounds better than 19, Lol

The Writer

Posted in Writers, Writing with tags , , , , , , on August 18, 2011 by darkjade68

Inside of all of us is The Writer… I’ve been writing since I was young, but I have never truly given my Writer a home… It is my intention to finally and truly embrace my Writer, I intend to do this by Writing, Writing, Writing…

But to do this, I must first create the space for it… Where will I write… What music will I listen to… Who will I share my writing with while I develop it… Time will tell

Yup, that was My Very First Post…

789 Posts Later, I’ve been Very, Very Busy

Even with my recent semi-hiatus

DarkJade - Cover (BlackandPurple) - Winter Lust and WonderPoetry;

After doing Several Posts that kinda sorta supplied the Readers with some Random/Kinda get to know me Posts, September hit, and I Posted My First Poem, “Intrepid“.

Which Lead to me Self Publishing My First Ever Poetry Book, “Winter, Lust, And Wonder“, in January, 2012. Followed by 12 Additional Poetry Books Worth of Poems, which I have yet to Self Publish.

Self Publishing;

In a Nutshell, anyone can do it.

I had no interest in pursuing Publishers, though I will perhaps at some point Submit some of My Self Published Work to some…

But for the time being, I want my Books out there, and I like the Control I have in regards to Self Publishing

Printing;

After some research, I ended up going with a Company Called CreateSpace

Great Product, Easy Setup, and Phenomenal Customer Service

Once you figure out how to Format Your Cover, and Inside Pages, you’ve pretty much got it made… Print away

The reason I say they have Phenomenal Customer Service is, on occasion a book will show up bent etc., and they will send out replacements immediately

Not only that, but getting someone on the phone is a breeze… You literally go to the Customer Service Section, and Request that they call you immediately, enter your Phone Number, and they call you that moment… You may start out on Hold at first, but I’ve never been on longer than a couple minutes before someone comes on.

thAmazon.Com;

I do believe CreateSpace is a subsidiary of Amazon.Com, which would explain why your book gets Put on their Site when you Publish it… In addition to a Website which is created specifically for each title.

You get more Profits when someone buys off your Custom Site, but you still make some profits when they buy it off Amazon.Com as well

Bookstore;

I approached a Local Bookstore who likes to work with Local Writers, and asked if they’d carry my Poetry Book, “Winter, Lust, And Wonder”, and she said yes (It’s a Consignment Kind of Thing, where I supply the Stock, and if they sell, we each get Profits)

Hooded Fighter 2Blog Series;

Something else that I did was Write what I called, Blog Series

I had a lot of fun with that, and am actually turning one of them into a Series of Novellas… That one’s is called “Allure

In addition to “Allure”, here are a list of some others;

Dark Rider – Sword & Sorcery Fantasy Series

Captain Fire 197 – Young Mercenaries/Sci-Fi Series

The Mind – Post Apocalyptic Tale

Additional Blog Series

I Died Once CoverI Died Once (Novella);

In August/September 2012, I Self Published my First Novella “I Died Once“, which I had written at the end of 2011, right within this Blog

This Book is also being carried at my Local Bookstore

 

 

 

 

 

A Font with SerifsChess With Agatha (Fantasy Novel);

From January-June, 2012 I Wrote My Fantasy Novel “Chess With Agatha“, which I then put on hold until February, 2012, where I had it Edited

I’m now doing some Additional Editing, as well as working with another Writer who is doing some Wordsmithing for me, which is a New Experience… But a good one

 

 

cwa bookmarkCWA Marketing Effort;

As a way to stir up interest in my Up Coming Fantasy Novel, as well as interest in my Writing in General… I thought I might offer to give away some Samples of My Novella, “I Died Once”, at the Local Bookstore

The Manager there wasn’t only receptive, but also suggested that I Create Custom Bookmarks which would Market My Up Coming Fantasy Novel, and Include them with the Samples…

Brilliant

I then contacted the person who helps me with my Book Cover Designs, and asked her if she could Create these Book Marks… That’s them up to the Left

Soon she’ll be shipping them out to me, and I will give the Bookstore 15 Free Copies of “I Died Once”, along with 15 Bookmarks which will accompany them

These will be given out to specific Store Patrons… Most likely ones that make a Purchase of $25 or so

=======================================================================================

That Is All…

On With The Battle

Thanks For Your Interest & Support

DarkJade-

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “18 Months In… I’m No Jedi Yet”

  1. Reblogged this on James Patrick Mahoney and commented:
    18 Months Of Pursuing Writing As A Career

  2. The Bookmarks look really good, James!!!
    Good luck with the campaign! I wish I could help. I’ll start with sharing the link if you post something on facebook again (I could not find the post I asked you to post again)
    Xo

  3. Keep up the effort. I’ve been writing full time for several years now and have JUST found the true oomph/inspiration to get my novel out to the world.
    And, yes, Createspace is great for print books, I’ve used them for four books (non-fiction and a short story collection) and plan to keep using them.
    For e-books, use Amazon’s KDP, but don’t forget Smashwords…BIG distribution online if you get into their premier program (easy to do if you format correctly, which is also easy to do). Good luck!

  4. As someone on the journey to get ready to self publish, I find this post very informative! Thanks! Good luck with your new novel.

  5. The bookmarks are a great idea–nice marketing device!

    That’s a lot of blogging my friend! And a lot of writing projects. I’m impressed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

