Mady’s Storm (Chapter X) – Sweet Sounds

WDH1_302_Ball_Gown_Strapless_Floor_Length_White_and_Black_Wedding_Dresses__1__9412182582456247_690X500Mady’s Storm

A Novella

by DarkJade

Prolog

Chapter One – America

Chapter Two – New York

Chapter Three – Virginia

Chapter Four – Flashback

Chapter Five – Rex Taylor

Chapter Six – Sex

Chapter Seven – A Time For Giving

Chapter Eight – Nightmares

Chapter Nine – Identity

Chapter Ten – Sweet Sounds

About an hour or so into the Ball, I have my driver, Elden, fetch my car…

At this point a young Doctor by the name of Richard Faremont has been stalking me most of the night…

And I found there’s only so many times you can send a man to get you some spiked punch, before the room starts spinning…

This time, I would sneak out before he got back.

“It’s raining pretty hard out there Miss Monroe,” says Eldon, who then turns and runs outside to fetch the car.

As I step outside onto the steps in my great white and black Ball Gown, which by the way was a huge hit if I do say so myself, I look up at the dark sky and let the rain come down upon my face…

Washing away the little makeup I had applied…

Mostly mascara, and lipstick…

It’s just then that I hear a sound the likes of something I had not heard for years.

The sweet, poetic sound of a saxophone…

My father loved to listen to New Orleans imported Jazz Albums from time to time you see…

I remember I used to stand just outside his study door in my long white cotton nightgown, and just listen…

But this horn I was hearing tonight, though played well, was definitely in rough shape.

Its notes were a bit sour, and hollow.

And as I opened my eyes, and peered off to the left where the sound came from, I saw a 30 something year old black man standing on the nearby corner, wearing a long worn out tan coat, with a black hobo hat upside down on the ground before him, playing his heart out to the passerby’s who were doing their best to not get wet…

“Your car is here mam,” the valet to the right suddenly spoke…

I hadn’t even seen him standing there… The valet that is.

Quickly I ran down the sidewalk and stood before the horn blower…

The rain drenching me as I stood…

I then took my diamond earrings off, and dropped them into his hat.

“Buy yourself a new horn, you’re sounding a bit sour and flat…” I said.

He stopped and simply stared at me.

“But you’ve definitely got talent,” I continued with a smile.

The man just stood there speechless in his long, worn out tan coat.

The rest of his clothes were worn too…

“The names Mady Monroe,” I said, reached out and shook his hand.

“Barry…” he replied, “Barry North.”

I then ran, soaking wet, to my car, and got in.

From the car window, I could see the ‘wolf’ Doctor at the top of the stairs holding my 5th glass of special punch.

I actually felt bad for him for about 30 seconds, but then saw him hand it to a ‘new’ victim, just inside the door…

A platinum blonde.

“Lets go Eldon…”, and the car drives off.

DarkJade-

PICTURE CREDIT – Dream In Color

3 Responses to “Mady’s Storm (Chapter X) – Sweet Sounds”

  1. Love the use of music in this one, very powerful ❤

Leave a Reply

