Robin Williams

I don’t know what to say about Robin Williams…

I’m simply devastated by this loss

So much so that I’m not even ready to Post a Picture of him on this Post

He is literally one of My Favorite Humans on this Earth

He has been for a long, long time

Yes I watched “Happy Days”… And yes I watched “Mork And Mindy”

And I knew there was something/someone special there

And I Loved “Popeye”… He was Amazing

Then it was “Moscow on the Hudson” for me… Such an Obscure Film, but he was Amazing

I connected with this guy on a very deep level right from the beginning of his career

Part of it may be that I wanted to be a Filmmaker since I was 7

And just always watched things through that lense

But mainly he’s one of the most Human, Human Beings I’ve ever come across

So Raw… I won’t even try to talk about his mind… Other than to say, it was a World

Then in 1987, “Good Morning Vietnam” came out… And he literally became my Favorite Actor

Hangen there with Sean Connery

Right around then I also felt River Phoenix was one of my Favorite Actors… Then we lost him

Also Devastating

But Robin… I’ve known/loved him for a long time… Me and Millions, and Millions of others

To me he was/is literally the Funniest Man on the Planet… The Funniest Man I’ve ever been exposed to in my Life

The hardest I ever laughed in my life was watching “Aladin”, when he came out of the Lamp for the first time… I laughed so hard during that scene I cried…

But before that came “Dead Poets Society”…. Mind Blowing Performance… Impactive beyond belief… That Film, and he, Blew me away

“The Fisher King” was strange, But he was Brilliant

Everytime he’d take the Screen, My Universe Expanded… He felt like some Brilliant, Eccentric Uncle to me

Visseral

He got inside, and changed you

This was no ordinary actor… He was a Titan…

And in “Hook”, he was the 100% Perfect Choice as Peter Pan in his Older Form

Magical

He made you believe, in a World of Make Believe

Then in 1993, “Mrs. Doubtfire”… This was truly when his career completely went through the roof with his Comic Genius

He completely showed that being in a Divorced Family, was ok… That like they said in the movie, there are all kinds/types of Families…

Coming from a Divorced Family, I understood this… And so did he, and the Writer and Director of this Film

But Robin is So Damn Human… It literally doesn’t matter what kind of movie is surrounding him, he Takes You To The Core of Humanity

He changes you

He changed me with every performance

Then in 1996, “Birdcage”

One of the most Human Characters I’ve ever seen on screen

He was originally casted as Nathan Lane’s Role, but I believe asked to play the other

Kinda sorta the ‘Man’ so to speak in the Gay relationship, as opposed to the more Flamboyient Nathan Lane Character

Who 100% nailed that role by the way

Both of them, Brilliant

But the way that Robin acted towards his son in regards to getting married young… Brilliant, Real, Human to the Core

See it if you haven’t

But in 1997’s “Good Will Hunting”, Robin went to a Whole New Height

Even the Academy found this to be true

100% Genius… My God you don’t even know he’s an Actor in that Film

He single handedly gave Psychology a Good name

Something that is difficult to achieve, as there are some that do not embrace Psychology

But beyond that… I @#$@# Love him in that Role

None of this… Absolutely none of this will truly capture what Robin Williams means to me

But I can’t sleep… And though I don’t want to read about it, or watch television about hit, or hardly even talk about it… I just need to get even a drizzle of this out… And so I write this

Beyond this are several other Brilliant Roles… “What Dreams May Come”, “One Hour Photo”

But I can Write No More

I’m in serious pain just finishing this up

I grew up with my Single Mom… Dad was not around, which was a good thing, as I didn’t feel they were a good match

I think the divorce was harder on my 3 other siblings

But it was a household where Emotions, and expressing Emotions, was the Norm

And so my Empathy in this matter in regards to Robin…

Is huge

I will never be the same being exposed to him… And I will never be the same now that he has left this planet

I do believe he has brought more joy to this world than any other single human I can think of

I know he has for me

All I know is when I miss myself, I often throw on one of his films… And I feel whole again… No clue why

But I suspect it has to do with his utter humaness… As well as being the funniest man on the planet

 

I love you Robin… I do admit it… Though I have, and may now never meet you… You have brought me the greatest joy, and I thank you for it

 

 

5 Responses to “Robin Williams”

  1. I share your pain and loss.

Leave a Reply

