Avengers Age Of Ultron… In Review

Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-FAN-MADE-Poster-the-avengers-35940286-1200-18002Avengers Age Of Ultron… In Review

My History With “The Avengers”;

Let me start by saying, as a kid the Comic Books I read were “The Avengers”, “Captain America”, “Iron Man” and “West Coast Avengers”… And from DC, “The Flash”…. That said, when the movies associated to those characters started coming out, I was the perfect audience for them. But, I will admit, at this point, I’m a bit tired of Superhero Films… Granted, I know full well that they’re not going anywhere, in fact DC Comics is about to more heavily weigh in soon.

I will say this about the first two “Avenger” Movies, they very much remind me of the Comics. It’s not all that easy to juggle that many characters, but they do achieve it successfully.

The First “Avengers” Movie I really enjoyed… Not as much as I enjoyed the First “Iron Man” Movie… But a lot more than I enjoyed the First “Captain America” Movie. Oh, and both “Thor” Movies are very good.

new-avengers-age-of-ultron-movie-poster-widescreen-2015

Story;

When I think of “The Avengers”, or “Superman”, and in some cases “The X-Men”, one of my thoughts is how can anything on Earth stand a chance. There lies the challenge. In the First Avengers Film, Loki was the bad guy who was from Asgard… And Alien Creatures aided him. Case and point. If you’re looking for the more ‘here on Earth’ intricate hero stories, watch the “Batman” Movies, or the “Arrow”, or “Daredevil” Television Series… The Films are great, and the TV Series are a lot of fun.

But that’s not what you will find in movies such as “The Avengers”.

That said, the Story was interesting enough, but as in the First “Avengers” Film, the Characters, and quieter Character Scene interactions are the greatest strength of these movies. Credit goes to Joss Whedon (The Director), whose Character Directing is what in my opinion is his strength (He wrote and Directed the “Buffy The Vampire Slayer” Television Series for all that don’t know).

Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-Character-Poster-Captain-AmericaThe Characters;

My Favorite Character in the First “Avengers” Movie, to my surprise, was Scarlett Johansson’s “Black Widow”… No, not because of her looks, because of her Acting, which is why I started liking her when I first saw “The Horse Whisperer”, which I believe was her first film. My Second favorite character in the First “Avengers”, was “The Hulk” (Mark Ruffalo). Not counting Robert Downey Jr.’s “Iron Man”, who I was first introduced to in “Iron Man”… He was amazing in the “Iron Man” Film, and carried it forward in “The Avengers”.

But enough about the First Film. In the “Avengers Age Of Ultron” Film, to my pleasant surprise, “Captain America” was my favorite character. I only say to my pleasant surprise, because though I already liked Chris Evans (From “Fantatastic Four” The Human Torch), I wasn’t all that happy with his portrayal in the “Captain America” Film. I think it was more of a Directing, Writing thing though. But he got better in “The Avengers”, and better in the Second “Captain America” Film, and even better in this Film. My next favorite character was a true surprise to me… A Character I had completely forgotten about existing, since I read the “Avenger” comic books years ago. Who that character is, is a bit of a spoiler, but I guess most of the world has seen this Film already, so I’ll just post a picture of the Character below, but say no more.

avengers_age-of-ultron_the-vision-transformation-2Played by no other than Paul Bettany, who I love, and who’s ‘voice’ is used in both the Original “Avengers”, and all of the “Iron Man” Films… Nuff said.

Beyond that, the other characters are fine, the Film begins with a big action sequence, which visually is of course entertaining, but I do admit that the immediate banter between characters felt like residue from the first Film. And so at first, I found myself more waiting, than watching for the Film to improve. But it does.

avengers-age-of-ultron-720x340

Review;

In the end, between Captain America’s character who I really enjoyed, Paul Bettany’s character who I also very much enjoyed, and Joss Whedon’s more heart felt Character Directed moments, I left this Film feeling both Entertained, and satisfied. The reality is, they pour an immense amount of effort into these Films, and we get to watch them for one small price compared to their Production Enormity. And thus, I rate this Film a 7.25 out of 10.

Definitely check it out if you like Hero Films… And if you don’t, you still might enjoy certain characters, and certain moments.

Nuff Said

dArKjAdE-

One Response to “Avengers Age Of Ultron… In Review”

Leave a Reply

