Remembering Alan Rickman

alanrickmanpictures

It literally feels like weeks ago that Alan Rickman passed away…

The reason that I’m doing this post is, four days prior to Alan Rickman passing, David Bowie had passed away

david

…and in all honesty, I had not recovered from that by a long shot.

Two of my Favorite People on the planet going out so close together

During my mourning, I did post about the loss of Bowie (Bowie), but I was so down about the loss of both of them, that I never got a chance/was up to writing about Alan Rickman… Though I totally intended to.

So here it is… A little late

rickman

I originally saw Alan Rickman for the first time in “Die Hard” (1988), which I’m not even sure I saw in a theater… But when I saw this film, he blew me away.

I have a Theory about Movies/Films/Stories where there’s a Good Guy, and a Bad Guy… The Theory is, the Movie/Film/Story can only be as good as the Villain is, no matter how good the Good Guy Actor is

Because lets face it, how great of a Victory is it to take out a Bad Guy you don’t fear, and or respect… It’s pretty empty

darth-vader_6bda9114

The ultimate example of this for me is “Star Wars”… Darth Vader is my Favorite Villain of all time… And I believe, played a huge role in why the Films were so great

rickman2

Lets face it, “Die Hard” is a fun/good Flick… But without Alan Rickman as Bruce Willis’s Adversary, it may not have been.

Alan Rickman was a Great Villain…

quigley-down-under-screencap-alan-rickman-13332709-853-480

Rickman then Affirmed this further in “Quigley Down Under” (1990), where he was, once again, a Great Villain…

If you haven’t seen this Film, you should… Fun, and Cool

alan-rickman-robin-hood-prince-thieves-1991

He then slam dunked my point in 1991, in “Robin Hood:Prince Of Thieves”, where lets face it… He was Brilliant, and Hilarious.

In this case, it was Rickman, in my opinion, that actually saves this Film… Because though I like Kevin Costner in many films, between his very American Accent, Terrible Hair, and Lack Luster Performance in this Film, not even Morgan Freeman (Who was great in this Film) could save him, or this Film alone…

Rickman stole the show.

But I knew then, as I knew when I saw Quigley, that there was something very special about Rickman… Something much, much more than a Villain

sense-and-sensibility-alan-rickman

In 1995, Alan Rickman’s Colonel Brandon was the Definitive Gentlemen… Kind… Gentle… Heroic… Humble

He was incredible in this Role… It’s probably the role I think of most when I think of Alan Rickman

He showed what ‘True Love” was in this film… When you love someone, and they don’t love you back… You keep on loving them anyway, without bitterness, or breach of character

gala

Then for me, came “Galaxy Quest” (1999), where he was hilarious

Then in 2001 came the role that he’s perhaps most globally known for…

snape

Severus Snape, in “Harry Potter And The Sorcerer’s Stone”

Where his dipiction of the Villain like character, lured you deeply into what would be a World Wide Phenomenon of Films

Once again, though he was surrounded by tons of Great Actors in these Flms, it is my truest opinion that not only was he the Greatest part of these Films, but they just wouldn’t have been as good without him… No way.

Brilliant

love-ac

Then in 2003, where he played an emotionally checked out husband in “Love Actually”

alanrickman-caterpillar

And in 2010’s “Alice In Wonderland”, where he was the voice of the caterpillar

But one of the oddest, and Greatest Feats of Acting I had been introduced to of him was in a Samual Beckett Play caught on Film

Obviously, the guy could act…

But for me, He was one of the Most Amazing Humans I’ve ever come across on Film… So much Feeling… So Richly alluring

I was Captivated when he spoke

And I will truly miss his Acting Creations

But I shall always watch them keeping him alive within me

Thanks For Reading/Listening

alan-rickman

One Response to “Remembering Alan Rickman”

Leave a Reply

