So I Lost My Grandma Yesterday

0321030134There really aren’t any words to describe what I’m feeling right now…

One of the Most Amazing Human Beings I have ever known has moved on, leaving this world behind

I Love My Grandma

And though I haven’t seen her in some time, who she is, and who she was will always be with me.

The Strongest Memories are of her taking me, my brother and my cousin Nicole to her Condo on the Beach, many, many years ago.

She used to make us Kraft Macaroni and Cheese… I remember at night, she used to lay on the floor in front of the television set, watching the news… While we were off playing in the other room. My Grandma Loved to watch the News… At least when I was growing up.

Then she’d make us popcorn… Not to mention all the times she took all of us to Disneyland.

The last hand full of years have been tougher for her… For one, she’s suffered from dementia for at least a couple years. And before that, her youngest son, my Uncle Pat passed away… Which was always difficult for her to swallow. And before that, her sister, whose house she had spent so much time at over the previous years, had moved away…

Time had finally caught up with Grandma… Something some part of most us I believe, wondered if it ever would.

She was timeless… She went back to college in like her 50’s (I believe it was), to become a paralegal… In her 40’s (Once again, I believe it was) she got her real estate license… In fact, she’s the one that found the house for my mom and dad, that I ended up spending my whole childhood in (except 9th grade, which I spent at my dad’s when he remarried in Arizona)… And at some point she actually owned a small apartment building… All of this after losing her one and only husband, my mom’s dad, also in her 40’s.

She never remarried, or went out with another man… No, instead she spent time working, and with her family.

Primarily her two sons, and sister… And her sister’s kids, who she had 8 of.

One of the most Brilliant, Interesting, Life Filled People I have ever come across.

For me, she set the bar on how well a life could be lived… And how long. She was 92 when she passed.

I will miss my Grandma… I’ve already missed her ever since I was a kid, when I really got to see more of her.

I can not begin to tell you how many lives she’s touched, and impacted… I’m not sure if there’s ever been anyone in this life that I have more admired… I really hope she’s chillen up their with her son Patrick right now… She told me once that she used to wake up in the middle of the night and listen to him play electric guitar in the wee hours… And that, that’s when his playing sounded the best. He was a Brilliant Guitarist… The best Blues Guitarist I’ve ever known. In fact, back when I had a band, it was Grandma that told me “I wish Patrick had recorded those late night playing sessions.” She went on to suggest to me that I recorded my sessions, which is what I did… I took a Video Camera to at least a couple of my Rehearsals, and they came out great… Never would have thought of it if she hadn’t suggested it.

Then there was the time that this van full of dudes blocked the road, and were going to beat up my dad, who was driving behind them… I guess they must have gotten into it on the road before hand. Anyway, my Grandma came along, pulled off the road too, and told the guys in the van to get lost, Lol

There’s so many stories with her, I could go on and on.

In fact some of my most cherished memories were those of her at her sister’s house, and the two of them drinking coffee, and laughing hysterically in the high pitched voices that filled the home…

So many memories… She was simply great. My mom will miss her too. And her son… And so many others… Countless… Endless.

Ah, I mustn’t forget to mention how whenever she saw me when I was older, she’d mention how much I had grown since she last saw me… If I had grown as much as she indicated, I would be well over 15 feet tall, Lol It always used to make me laugh.

Alright, well… I won’t say goodbye to you Grandma… I’m not all that good at goodbyes… But I will say, I hope you are flying high above me… I know I will always feel you, and think of you… So many stories… So much love… Such an Amazing Human Being.

We Love You Grandma

14 Responses to “So I Lost My Grandma Yesterday”

  1. It’s always difficult to lose a loved one…She sounds like a wonderful person and I’m sorry the world had to let her go.
    With time, the grief will leave you, but I’m sure a part of her will always remain with you. May she rest in piece – and may she live on in the hearts of you and your family.

    • Thank you so much Blue… Tried to sleep, got back up after an hour… She went into the Hospital today, and they didn’t think she’d recover… Then she finally passed early this evening. She was 92, and had an Amazing, and Long Life. But I admit, I am definitely hurting right now. I Loved, and Love her very much. Thanks for your Kind Words

      DJ-

  2. That’s a beautiful tribute.
    I’m glad you were able to know her, and thank you for introducing us.

  3. I am sorry for your loss! Grandmas are special.

  4. What beautiful story and the memories are priceless. Sorry for your loss.

  5. Claire Cappetta Says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. It’s always difficult when someone we love moves on but how lucky you are to be left with wonderful memories of an amazing person. I always think that memories create a scrapbook of love in our hearts and souls.

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss my friend.

    I know that everyone believes differently, but I believe that those we love are never really very far from us. They’re always in our hearts and memories. And I believe they watch over us through the years. Always walking beside us.

    Your Grandma sounds like an amazing woman – thank you for sharing some of your beautiful memories of her. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    • Thank you Paige… Yeah, she’s definitely with me… She’s one of the most important people of my life… Like her son who we lost a hand full of years back… 92 years is Awesome, but she will still be missed.

      Thanks again

      DJ-

Leave a Reply

